What's this chap up to here? Is the drop he's about to take correct? For many of us this game is hard enough without trying to familiarise ourselves with the never-ending list of complex Rules. In fact, the reality is that we don't know many and even professionals struggle, frequently calling in referees for advice. However, rules are rules as they say, and they are pretty unforgiving.
With this in mind, over the course of the year look out for a new feature in the newsletters called 'Our Help with the Rules', with advice and help on…er, well….the Rules.
We'll start one off for you: In a stroke play event Dave comes up to you on the 6th hole and tells you he's just discovered he's been playing with 15 clubs. What's the penalty, bearing in mind you are allowed a maximum of 14 clubs?
Would you know what to do? Apart from offering your utmost sympathy, the answer is as follows: A two-stroke penalty for each hole at which a breach occurred up to a maximum of four strokes a round. So, four strokes. Bad luck Dave…